Some parents think that children should read only educational books and not entertaining books as it is a waste of time. What is your opinion?

Books are the best source of knowledge. Reading books is the best way to gain knowledge. A certain group of parents think that reading educational books is very important and feel that reading entertaining books is waste of time. However, in my opinion, it is important to read books from both the categories.

Educational books are very essential for children and are major part of their school curriculum. Apart from these school books, there are many other educational books. Encyclopedia is a prime example. This book introduces the children to the world and will give them essential information about anything and everything. Also, there are books about scientific experiments which the help of which children can develop practical knowledge. General knowledge books also helps children in improving their memory power.

Despite this, it is equally important to read entertaining books like comic books, story books and novels. This will help the children to relax and rejuvenate. Continuous reading of serious books will lead to pressurized minds and may result in loss of concentration and focus. Humor and entertainment is very much required for human brain to feel refreshed. They help in developing a healthy mind and thereby to become a complete individual. Also, story books and novels will help bring out creative side in the children.

To sum it up, one should not restrict the children to read only educational books. They should be given the freedom to read all variants of books available. Nevertheless, books based on puzzles, though not considered as serious books, aid in boosting their memory power. So, children should be allowed to read all varieties of books, to be all-rounder.