Some people argue that arts, such as paintings and music, are a waste of money and the government should spend this money on other public services.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In a developing country, arts & music are seldom given priority when compared to public services and businesses. Also, a large portion of people finds the Government’s investment in arts & music unworthy and they (prefer to) shift that investment towards direct development. However, vitalizing arts & creativity, in general, can turn out to be a wise decision by a state.

There are two factors to this theory. The first is how music, arts & paintings can put a country on a global list of attention and how it may result in attracting tourists & investors to visit that country. For example, ancient Greece, as we all know Greece has a rich history of heritage & culture. Their monuments, statues and paintings have a worldwide validation and every year thousands of people visit Greece to enjoy its magnificent picturesque and get affected by it. This eventually helps the existing government to generate a hefty amount of revenue from tourism and to utilize that money to improve the current infrastructure, health care and amenities.

The second factor is how creative education can help a business or a public sector to improve its reach. Almost every product based company is dependent on an artist or an entertainer to promote their products in the consumer market as these types of people have a larger impact on the consumer’s mindset. The marketing industry runs on the fuel of creative tag lines, attractive music, interactive imaging and popular artists. Even a public sector awareness campaign requires an artist. For example, The Clean India campaign chose a movie actor Akshay Kumar to endorse their campaign of promoting the use of proper sanitation among rural areas. Thus, making sure that more people watch the advertisement and get influenced by it.

Summarizing, though it is necessary to have creative engineering and improved public sector for the people. It is also important to have an artistic approach towards growth and development of the society.