The increase in mobile phone use in recent years has transformed the way we live, communicate and do business. Mobile phones can also be the cause of social or medical problems. What forms do these problems take?

Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of mobile phones?

It is true that excessive use of the mobile phone has caused social and medical problems to many in recent times, but simultaneously, it has also helped tremendously in improving businesses and communication. However, to stay at a brighter side, there needs to be a certain balance of the time consumed for mobile phones as well as the knowledge of ethics of using a mobile phone.

One of the major troubles of using mobile is an addiction. These days they come loaded with the innumerous amount of entertainment and informative applications. One cannot get sufficed with its contents, ultimately resulting in excessive usage. The multiplayer games, all types of support applications keeps a person constantly connected to their devices. Due to the continuous interaction, people have reported suffering from weakening such as eyesight, neck pain. Even parents are allowing their young ones from the age of 2-3 to use mobile phones and there have been reported situations of nerve damage in them due to excessive use. These kinds of problems can be prevented with responsible usage.

Another major issue caused by mobile phones is social media rampage. With easy access to communication and the ability to express our opinions to a larger audience, social media platforms have enabled a good number of people to express their rage about every day issues. Many of these are either based on a political, regional or religious basis, causing the people of inverse belief to burst their fits of anger. This results in social media wars in the form of huge articles, abusive comments and threats Though these issues might not look as scary as a battle, they do have an absolutely wrecking impact on the mental health of the victims. This causes people to go depressed, anxious and scared about their present or future. But with good conduct of social media ethics like teaching people to respect opinions, allowing free speech and understanding emotions these problems can be controlled to a large extent. Platforms of social media should run a filter of inspection to counter hatred in general.

Summarizing, the use of mobile phone and social media can be moralized with proper awareness of its benefits, limitations and ethics.