Some people believe that to be successful at a sport you need a natural ability and others think that hard work and practice can make you successful. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Becoming an excellent and famous sport player is always difficult. Some people declare that you must have a gift for it, while some others believe that hard working is more important. In my own perspective, nature and nurture are both critical.

On the one hand, natural advantage is the foundation of being successful in sports. Citing Michael Phelps as an example, as the all-time greatest player of swimming in the world, he has been studied by sport scientists and confirmed that his body is the most suitable for swimming. Such a physical advantage born with nature can be witnessed on plenty of successful sportsmen, such as LeBron James. For some sport players, an insufficient talent could be the obstacle for them to breakthrough their limits, even if they keep working hard on it.

On the other hand, natural ability cannot guarantee success for any sportsmen, while persistence with hard work and practice is the key to lead them to it. For instance, Ronaldinho who used to be one of the most gifted soccer players in the world ends up with a relatively common career, since he could not persist with effort to maintain his shinning start of his career. In contrast, some sport players who persevere with great effort and practice finally overcome the large gap between a talented and an ordinary natural abilities and achieve their success. For instance, Jeremy Lin directed Linsanity in NBA as an Asian basketball player and encourage large amount of common Asian teenagers to play basketball which is a sport dominated by black people.

To conclude, both the natural advantage and hard working in nurture are equally significant to success in a sport and it is commonly seen among those famous sportsmen. Talent could bring you success easier and perseverance with effort and practice could help you maintain your success much longer.