With internet improvements, people can leave views or opinions on certain goods or services that they have purchased. Is it a good or a bad thing. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

As Internet develops, it is becoming common for online merchants or sellers to build up their own review systems to allow their customers to post reviews or shopping experience on their websites. From my own perspective, it is a positive advancement.

On the one hand, the sellers themselves may concern that their competitors could post negative comments on purpose, so that it would exert a considerable influence on their sale. Since the negative ratings would be shown on their websites and everyone could see them, some people might be misled by those false information and stop making purchase from them. Apart from that, there are extra cost and labors required to maintain this system. They need to hire IT engineers to established the system and more customer representatives to communicate with customers and tackle their problems.

On the other hand, it is advantageous for both the seller and the customer to utilize this scheme. The seller could collect more comments from their loyal customers and they would figure out which aspect they are not doing well in, thus they could make improvement. Additionally, they could attract more people to their products or services with a higher rating after the improvement. For general public, comparing with the traditional customer service by phone calls, it is more rapid and convenient to leave their opinions towards the items or services they bought as they do not have to wait for a long time on the phone line. Moreover, people have the chance to make comparison and select the better products or better sellers because of the rating system.

To sum up, there more merits for such an online review system than drawbacks, because it is beneficial for customers to choose the ideal items that want and for sellers to improve their qualities of products or services.