Some people believe that educational success depends on good teachers while others believe that the attitude of the student is more important Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some people believe that a dedicated mentor is a prominent factor in the academic excellence of the students, while others feel that it totally depends on the outlook of the mentees. This essay will discuss both the above-mentioned views. It will also prove why the student’s attitude is the deciding factor in his/her academic success.

Firstly, success is the result of one’s own will power. It is rightly being said that “Where there is will, there is a way.” So, a deeply motivated student will definitely find the way for excelling in studies. Secondly, teachers are not the only available option. There are many books and online videos which can provide guidance and support needed to get the desired success. Moreover, the surroundings of a student also play an important part. Parents, relatives and friends are the influencers who can support and motivate learners to excel in education. For instance, the top rank holders of India’s toughest competition UPSC often hail from very ordinary backgrounds wherein they are unlikely to have received high quality formal education.

However, some people do believe that a good mentor is needed for educational success. It is because they think that a good guide provides proper guidance such as the right learning materials, periodic assessments and tips for scoring well in tests. Moreover, in today’s competitive and advanced world, a qualified and skilled teacher is needed to guide students in the correct way. For example, there are many coaching institutes, which have qualified professors to teach young aspirants to crack the competitive exams and most of them succeed too. Even so, a good teacher alone cannot create any miracles. If the student is not motivated enough, no matter how hard the teacher tries, they are less likely to succeed.

After discussing both the sides of the arguments, this essay clearly proves that the student’s attitude is the major factor that determines their academic success.