Some people believe that famine is caused by climate change and preventing this will stop famine. What is your view of this?

Climate change is the most urgent issue facing the world today and many believe that it is the main reason for famine. Although I agree with this view to some extent, I believe that global warming is not the only factor causing this catastrophe and there are more contributing factors to the expansion of famine.

Firstly, global warming results in drought and consequently the loss of plants and extinction of animals which are main sources of human food. The world' temperature has risen as a result of a Carbon-fuelled lifestyle that decreases the amount of rainfall. Obviously, plants cannot grow without water and aquatic animals are extinct because of losing their habitat. More importantly, the loss of any species of animal causes imbalance in the ecosystem that makes the problem more intense. For instance, since rain has barely fallen for three years in South Africa, its people are associated with starvation.

Although the impact of global climate change on famine increase is undeniable, there are other factors that intensify the problem. Overpopulation and mismanagement creates a battle for food. If governments manage to successfully hire population control policies and optimise the food supply process, less people will suffer inadequate food intake. Many countries lacking water, have managed to provide their habitats with enough food by optimisation of their agricultural activities and proper management of import against export.

To sum up, global famine is not only connected to environmental problems, but also is related to social misconduct equally. However, preventing climate change can save people from great hunger because supplies will be enough for everyone.