Some people believe that music should be taught in school, while others think that it is best to focus on computer and science. What is your opinion?

It is suggested by some that arts such as music should be included as one of the subjects in schools. However, others believe that institutions should concentrate more on science and computer subjects. I think that students must be taught both art and science for their all-round development.

People who suggest that students should focus on science and computers points out that these are the fundamental subjects that provide better job prospects to the students down the lane. A study in India has claimed that private sectors such as Information Technology and Management Business which contributes a larger part of the employment in India mostly provided employment to candidates with science or computer background. Thus, people suggest that, there is a chance of getting excessive job opportunities for students with science and computer degrees, hence, more priority must be given to these subjects in school.

On the other hand, those who support music claims that it must be included in the school curriculum because children who are interested in music must be provided with the opportunity to learn as we may not know it might turn into their career as well. So, all students must be given chance to choose or learn as per their interest. Moreover, Music allows student to express their feelings through singing and makes them more creative. It also promotes social skills as students need to interact with other students while participating in competitions or might have to work in group in order to compose a song and sing. Thus, Music also aids in developing student’s communication skills.

In conclusion, Although Science and computer subjects might play crucial role in earning a job, it is important that students must be taught all subjects including music as per their interest as it helps in improving their cognitive skills.