Some people believe that online materials should only be used for a child to learn, whereas others believe only printed materials should be used. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

1Nowadays, Due to the advent of the internet, learning methodologies have been changed drastically. It is considered by some that digital books are the best way for the children to learn to read, while others support a physical version of books. This essay will consider both ideas and explain why I think the modern method of reading online is an excellent option for teaching children.

Firstly, online modality is preferred by some because of the ease of access. One can conveniently choose online material based on the child’s capabilities and also make the experience exceedingly challenging as the student makes progress. Moreover, screen reading is great as they are provided with various in-built features such as highlighting, bookmarking, inbuilt dictionaries and Wikipedia. For instance, if a young student is learning to read English as a second language, there are websites which offer pages with links to dictionaries so that they can look up the meaning in their native language. Such functionalities make the learning process more convenient for both the student and the teacher. Furthermore, online sites are great at the illustrations, they are designed with colorful images and pictures making reading more engaging and interesting for the children.

People who believe in traditional paper-based reading feels that print books are better at conveying information. For avid readers, the feel of the paper is important. Holding a book in hand, the smell of the paper, nice binding and flipping through pages creates an impression in reader’s mind which helps them in remembering the events for longer time. A study reported in the Guardian last year found that readers using an online reader were less likely to recall events in a mystery novel than people who read the same novel in print. Another point that needs to be considered is that the authenticity of the online websites. As anyone can post the material on the internet, children can be provided with false information which might misguide them, whereas published books are designed and authenticated by subject experts, so students can rely on them undoubtedly.

In conclusion, Although, the authenticity of the material provided online is questionable, the benefits that it brings to the children in terms of convenience and accessibility outweighs its drawbacks.