Some people believe that teenagers should concentrate on all school subjects. But others believe that teenagers should focus on the subjects that they are good at or that they find the most interest. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is a heated debate on what children should study. While a section of the society considers, learning about every subject in school is beneficial to pupils, a myriad of people advocates that young children should choose study subjects according to their interest or their capabilities. In my opinion, I believe in studying all the subjects owing to its long-term advantages.

On the one hand, focusing on all subjects in primary schools is extremely helpful. Firstly, young children will learn about different areas, such as mathematics gives them a chance to learn about basic calculation, philosophy inculcates critical thinking in their minds. Moreover, these skills are highly desirable later in their adulthood. To exemplify, a recent study published by the Children Educational Department India, revealed that children who learnt about all the basic subjects in their school, are more matured and self-dependent individuals and helping in the society’s development with their knowledge. Therefore, a child should concentrate on all school subjects during their childhood.

On the other hand, people who have an opinion about choosing subjects according to one’s interests have their arguments in favour. The most important is that it would be an extra burden on a child if he is not comfortable with any particular subject, or he is not capable enough to learn anything from it. As a result, the child would feel dishearten, and it will force him to avoid studies overall. In India, for instance, almost 85% of young children are not interested in studying maths and if educators and parents force them to learn mathematics and its formulas, they consider it a task to complete and ultimately will not enjoy it. Hence, opting study areas could be beneficial for teenagers.

To conclude, after discussing both points of view, I consider that educators should not allow some subjects to be elective. However, children should consider all subjects equally important because different subjects have different benefits.