Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both views and give your own opinions

Many people assume that there must be a permanent punishment for several crimes committed. Although most think that there must be a reason and purpose for committing such crime and should be taking into consideration when deciding on their punishment. In my opinion, however, there should be some consideration given to an individual for committing such crime because of the situation they find themselves is uncontrollable.

Firstly,in our country of today there are different kinds of people with different mindset. some people deliberately act in an unpleasant ways because of the kind of friends, people they associate themselves with. For instance, a gang of people in a community going all around raping young girls who are very vulnerable because they belong to a powerful association. In this kind of situation there should be a fixed punishment for such crime because it's a deliberate act.

Secondly, because of the problems of unemployment in our society of today however, there are different people who met themselves in an unforseen circumstance which leads them into bad actions. For example, an unemployed graduate having to take care of his parents and siblings, which his mother is admitted in the hospital arranged for a urgent operation and younger ones going to school without any assistance in payment of their tuition fees and their upbringing. If someone of such people was caught stealing, there should be a consideration when this person is been punished.

In conclusion,nevertheless, there should be a fixed punishment for a deliberate act and also there should be some consideration to be taken for an individual for commit a crime.