Some people believe today that everyone has a right to access to the Internet and that governments should provide this access for free. Other people believe that access to the internet is not a right and should be paid for like other services.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether the access to the internet should be considered as a right and free or it should be seen as any other services that should be bought. The reasons behind each view will be explained in the following paragraphs.

The advocates of this view that the internet should be free argue that internet is the source of information which is essencial for both work and education. They compare internet with public libraries and declare that these two should be free, so, all the people can access information freely. In addition to that, not only do we use the internet for gathering data and information but alsodo we use it to perform many of our dayly personal chores like banking transactions, shopping or even filling government related forms. As a result, the role of the internet in all aspects of our life is undeniable in this era. Therefore, it may logical to see the access to the internet as a right and concequently, want everyone, no matter how reach or poor they are, to have access to the world wide web!

On the other hand, the opponents of this view assert that the internet is mostly used as a means of communication and in that case, like any other communication services, ranging from cellphones to faxes, should be paid. Secondly, they claim that the burden of making the internet from nationally is not tolerable for the governemts as it can be costly. Lastly, the declare that many of the internet provider companies may become bankrupt if the governments want to make these services free and eventually this may lead to national ecconomical problems.

To sum up, although it is understandable why some people believe internet should be paid, considering the fact that the internet is a prerequisit to this century, this essay believes that it should be free to everyone.