Some people prefer to provide help to those in the local community. Others, however prefer give money to national and international organizations. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People differ in their opinion regarding how they want to help society. While some people prefer to provide aid to the underprivileged in their surrounding community, others prefer to donate to NGOs and charity organizations. This essay will discuss both views and conclude.

To begin with, when people provide support to the needy in their local communities, they establish a direct relationship with them. Hence, there are no mediators or opportunities for corruption and the impact of the support is felt by the giver. After all, their resources come from local people and as such, when the resources are utilized to help locals, it is fully justified. Recent interviews with donors to local communities reveal that they are much more satisfied with removing all intermediaries like the NGOs to ensure that all the monetary benefits get to the poor and their problems are resolved. For instance, if you are a doctor, you can help by providing medical aids to the destitute or if you are a teacher, you can offer your support by volunteering to teach in underdeveloped countries.

Conversely, if you have a lot to offer in charity, then donating to NGOs is a must. This is because they are flushed with larger platforms that are equipped with proper channels to distribute aids through global networks that reach a lot of people. More importantly, they have numerous branches in different parts of the countries which enable them to offer assistance to people in remote areas. As a donor, you become part of a global village. An example of an NGO providing support is the Red Cross which provided aids to the migrants during the Covid pandemic. Another example is UNICEF aimed at helping needy children.

To conclude, helping the needy directly or donating to charity organizations are both excellent ways of contributing to society. In my opinion, if there are people who need assistance in our local communities, we should help them first before contributing to NGOs. After all, charity begins at home.