Write about the following topic.

Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular.

Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Over the last-half century, online shopping has increasingly gained popularity with the advent of the internet. While some people opine it comes with certain drawbacks, I believe that its benefits outweigh these drawbacks and I shall support my opinion with the following arguments.

To begin with, one of the numerous benefits of online shopping is the variety of products that consumers are exposed to. There are advertisements of a wide range of products from which consumers can buy without going through the stress of visiting physical stores and enduring hassles of traffic. Although, some people would argue that availability of product variety could influence consumers to buy products they do not need, I am certain that consumers purchase behaviour can be controlled with the help of budgets and savings to ensure that they do not overspend. A perfect example of a prominent online store in Nigeria is Jumia store. They sell all types of products ranging from groceries to appliances and clothing. In addition, they deliver purchased goods to consumers doorsteps thereby eliminating the need to drive to stores and consequently, reducing traffic. Therefore, this is a win for the environment, the government, and most importantly, the consumers.

Secondly, people who argue against online shopping, base their arguments on the impact of false advertising and increased risk of buying fake products. Fortunately, strict controls have been established by the government and regulatory bodies to reduce the impact of false advertising and fake products. One of such regulatory bodies in Nigeria is Nafdac. They are known for blacklisting online stores that sell fake or low quality products to consumers. Moreover, customers are now more careful and alert to ensure that they do not fall prey of online scammers and fraudulent websites.

To conclude, although there are certain drawbacks that are attached with online shopping like credit card frauds and risk of buying low quality products, the benefits of shopping online completely outweigh these problems. However, we must exhibit caution in ensuring that we shop safely and purchase only the items we need.