Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

It is the opinion of some people that, advertisement endears us Into buying what we are not in dire need of, however, some other people's school of though is that advertisement brings to our awareness new products or services that have the propensity to make our living easier. Many advertisements are sugar coated with make believe acts, while some others are genuinely out there to improve our lives.

On the one hand, many advertisements are out there to trick people into buying their products. These adverts are exaggerated and the products are not as effective as portrayed in the media or print. Also, many advert agencies makes use of celebrities to advertise their products, which are not necessarily needed by the populace, however, the influence these celebrities has on their fans pressures them into buying many products that they do not need.

On the other hand, advertisements are very good avenues to inform the general public about goods or services that would improve living conditions. To illustrate, many office gadgets that makes office work faster and more efficiently can most times be discovered through advertisements.

Furthermore, medical advancements over particular terminal illness can be made known through advertisements. Also, advancements in science and technology can only be made known to the people through effective advertisements.

To conclude, advertisements can be a tool to trick people into purchasing what they do not really need, however, advertisements also brings to awareness the products or services that would inevitably better the living conditions of many people. As a result of this, advertisement is good but people need to weigh their scale of preferences before buyingo goods advertised.