Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 254 words.

Advertising does encourage us to buy things. That is the only motive of an advertisement. Sometimes it is quite unnecessary but the other times it also helps give us information about the new products launched recently. How else would one be aware of the latest products or recent competitors in the market!

A few people may find it attractive, by the way the particular product is shown. Basically it seems so attractive that it immediately catches the eye and the viewer would want to purchase the particular product. Sometimes, in a television commercial for example, an actor or actress that is starring in that particular commercial, is highly admired by the viewer. This is another reason why one can say that advertisements encourages to buy unnecessary things.

On the other hand, it is quite useful in terms of awareness. Advertisement in newspapers and television commercials make us aware of the new products launched in the market at the comfort of our homes! What a boon! After all, the company or brand invests quite a lot of monetary funds in advertisement. It is an advantage to have awareness about the market as well.

One should consider advertising as a way to explore different products and improve our lives by choosing the right and suitable things for ourselves. All in all, I think advertising is quite powerful and it is definitely a plus point to us as far as we do not get carried away with the glamour and have control on our emotions by sticking to the things that are necessary.