Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

I will tend to agree that advertising tells us about new products that may improve our lives. In the below paragraphs, I will outline how advertising can be both informative and entertaining, and how we control our own impulses for buying.

Firstly, advertising serves the purpose of educating and informing us by condensing information into bite-sized, short chunks of information. For example, the advertisements that appear besides Google search results often carry headlines such as "Most affordable handyman services" or "home repairs at multiple locations". This brings to our attention the characteristic service we are looking for, such as affordability or convenience.

Secondly, advertising can be entertaining, which in turn, encourages us to find out more and research more about the product. For example, Nike's slogan "Just Do It" and the advertisements it creates inspires us to participate in sports. This can-do spirit associated with Nike gear can motivate us to become fitter.

Some people may counter-argue that advertising encourages us to buy things that we don't need. However, with the advent of the Internet, we can easily research the benefits and harmful effects of the products that are being advertised. We can also avoid advertising when it becomes too intrusive, such as closing advertisement pop-ups which appear while surfing the Internet, or diverting our attention to reading instead of seeing advertising billboards. Ultimately, we control our own spending and as long as we practice restraint and keep to our budget, we can prevent ourselves from splurging on unncessary products.

In conclusion, advertising brings to the top of our minds products that may benefit us and may even motivate us to become more active. By thoroughly researching our purchases, we can avoid buying things we don't need.