Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

Generations ago, the global education system has not been subjected to any deviations and stayed immutable for many years. Nevertheless, it has undergone dramatic changes over the past decade. Furthermore, many people argue that as a result of these changes an overwhelming majority of time started to be occupied for studying theoretical facts and that learning of practical skills is neglected. This essay aims to investigate the mentioned view and present the crucial reasons as to why it is entirely unacceptable.

On the one hand, it is claimed that the reorientation of the entire system of teaching focusing on theoretical aspects, is substantially beneficial for the global community. In other words, the prioritization of studying theory has become more prevalent in the education system. Moreover, a paper published by Dr. Charles Watson, a world-renowned sociologist, reveals that 27% of young individuals, who obtained theoretical knowledge only, are more prosperous and dramatically more efficient at making work. Therefore, this instance has bolstered the existing belief that acquiring practical skills is not necessary and futile in its nature.

Despite the established opinion that theory teaching is significantly important and that practical skills can be ignored is absolutely incorrect. That is to say, that individuals' practical abilities drastically contribute to the worldwide economic and scientific development. It can be illustrated by the latest research, conducted by the Harvard University, which elucidated the fact that there has been a sharp decline in the number of economic and scientific growth due to the lack of specialists which had practical skills. Overall, the idea that practical skills are irrelevant is ill-informed and dangerous in itself and could potentially lead to a far worse outcome for the society.

This essay argued, that obtaining practical knowledge is essential and that in all levels of education it should not be neglected. In my opinion, I admit that nowadays theoretical teaching prevails over practical studying, however, it is absolutely inappropriate and preposterous and should be altered in the nearest future.