Some people say that in all levels of education from primary schools to universities too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Few people opine that educational institutions are focusing more on theoretical aspects of studies from basic to higher level of education rather than spending maximum time on practical knowledge. I completely agree with the above statement. In the following essay I shall discuss the same.

It. Some people say that in all levels of education from primary schools to universities too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree? Some people say that in all levels of education from primary schools to universities too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?is true that education system gives more importance to theory knowledge as compared to practical skills. Firstly, most of the institutions follow conventional mode of teaching that includes reading, listening and writing. Children only get knowledge of text content which they forgot after sometime what they have learned. Hand-on experience helps them to memorise things for long period of time. To elaborate, computer hardware engineering students even can not recognise every part of the machine and identify the problem. This is because lack of physical practice at learning time.

Even in all the schools theory lectures are more than practicals. Science,computer and physics practicals take only once in a week whereas each day has textual lectures. So students do not get enough time to interact with real things.For instance, times news reported that in india, BMC schools have computer subject but they do not have machines to learn the actual context of the text. This lack of real experience hold them back to reach highest level in near future.

To conclude, traditional teaching system emphasises more on learning facts and give less focus on practical knowledge. Owing to this, children have to face problems when they interact with real work in their future. So equal time should be devote to learn theory and practical skills in all levels of education.