Some people say that technologies like mobile phones are disrupting social interaction. Do you agree or disagree?

Due to contribution of the technology, like electronic devices, mobile phones have become part of the daily life. That is why some opine that the cell phone has had an adverse effect on the social interaction. However, I disagree with this notion. A number of arguments surround my opinion.

To begin with, mobile phones have not destroyed social interaction; they have merely changed it. Now people don’t meet each other face to face, they are connected to each other through this marvel of technology. Various options of the mobile sets allow to be connected with all around him, even with a long lost friends and neighbours. Inside a hand set we can have contact numbers and can get informed if someone calls even when the set is switched off. So nobody is beyond reach over very long distant, internet browsing, email checking options through cell phone also have made our life easier and one can get latest news of any member over a second of the time within his social circle. Earlier when a person is away from home, he was cut off from his family till he returned. But, today he is connected with them all time.

Furthermore, it would not be wrong to say that social interaction has greatly enhanced because of this technology godsend. Earlier people had friends only in their propinquity, but now it is possible to have a large number of friends from the whole world. It goes without saying that today’s youngsters have the largest social network that ever in the history of the mankind.

Undoubtedly, face to face interactions have come down but that is because of the fast paced lifestyle. Over the last half century, our lifestyles have changed beyond our wildest expectations. To survive in this. 24/7 society and to keep up with the Jones’ people have become workaholics. This is the main reason of the loss of the social interaction. The mobile phones only help the people stay interconnected in today’s time.

To sum up, cell phones have not lessened social interaction, they have merely changed the way of interaction and they have in many ways increased the social network of the people.