Some people say that technologies such as mobile phones is disrupting social interaction. Do you agree or disagree?

With the development of modern technologies, such as cell phones, some people claim that they may disrupt social interaction. While it seems reasonable, I do not agree with that point of view.

On the one hand, the reason why some people consider modern technology an obstacle to social interaction is because they believe more and more people are addicted to it. For instance, nowadays children are attracted by cell phones or computers, so that they prefer playing with them at home rather than going out and play with other people in person. Nevertheless, people lacking social interaction does not blame for technologies, instead their lack of self-discipline and self-control on the usage of technologies is the probably the main reason.

On the other hand, technology provides human beings with much more convenience and efficiency to interact with others. Hundreds of years ago when the telephone was not invented, people could communicate with each other merely by letters, which was extremely slow. However, people can contact their families, friends or colleagues within a few seconds and they can even have video chats together because of the development of cell phones and the Internet.

Moreover, with proper use, cell phones, computers and Internet could be the ideal tools for social interaction. Large numbers of business are accomplished through phone calls or web meetings. Customer service by phone or online chat are widespread throughout merchants. People can maintain daily contacts with each other and we can even make new friends on social media websites.

To conclude, as long as they are used in appropriate ways, technologies are excellent tools for social interaction, but not disruption.