Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Some school of thought believe that creativity in form of art is vital and should be added to a school's curriculum while others feel it is unnecessary and a total waste of effort. This essay agrees that creative activities are important and should be part of the compulsory courses in a classroom.

On the one hand, learning creative activities in school is fundamental as it aid survival of youngsters later in life. Recently, countries of the world are experiencing some economy struggles affecting them negatively. As a result, employment opportunities are difficult to come by and being financially dependent as an individual is a difficult task to achieve. However, unlike many youths who would just kick-start learning a skill, people who were taught art in school can immediately divert into becoming entrepreneurs, as learning this from a younger age has made them professionals and survivals in the world. For instance, 70% of Nigerian youth are entrepreneurs who make on living from various skills learnt both in school and after school.

On the other hand, many people disagree and think that a skill such as art is irrelevant as it adds to be bulkiness of the curriculum. It is very true that children take essential courses such as mathematics, physics and biology in school. This courses are compulsory and also very difficult for some of them and adding art to the curriculum increases the cumbersomeness of the courses as well as increasing stress.

To conclude, although studying creative activities in school can be quit tasking and cumbersome to students while in school, i believe it is very essential to learn a skill at such young age as this enhances survival and financial independent later in life.