Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In recent years, the importance of art in school curricula has been gaining a great deal of attention throughout society to encourage creativity among children. Most importantly, the issue has become a bone contention among academic experts regarding its inclusion in the school syllabus. While some people consider it a wastage of time, I would contend that it should be considered a mandatory subject for a child at a certain level.

On the one hand, art inevitably promotes creativity. This means children who are exposed to art-related activities such as drawing, crafting, painting and many more, develop cognitive functions such as thinking and analytical capability significantly. Therefore, it could be a great trigger to release the inner potentiality of children in their next period of life. An empirical survey conducted in the UK last year reflects the same notion. The surveys show that children who had art in their syllabus till 5th grade were 40% more creative in thinking compared to those who were involved in other issues rather than art. Hence, having art in the school curriculum might be an important initiative for the well-being of nations.

On another hand, in this fiercely competitive arena, some people think that carrier oriented studies namely Science, Math’s and many more to be included only in the school syllabus. By studying such productive subjects, students will understand practical knowledge to beat the competition in the real world and it might play an important role to have a good carrier in future. Moreover, the addition of art to the syllabus will also burden their study load. This can be exemplified by the initiatives in Taiwan for the last few decades where the government is subsidizing the educational cost by emphasizing productive knowledge only. This is reflected in Taiwan’s growth of GDP from 5% to 12% in the last five years. Hence, to them, having art as a school subject seems a waste of time.

All the things considered, the value of art should not be lessened for the sake of a growing economy. I believe young aspirants should be kept away from the typical rat race competition for the sake of their mental development. Our next generation can be fortified at a great level by means of art and cultural activities at their initial age of life.