Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree?

A great man once said, “We should never judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree”. In the current education system, we all are learning like a herd of sheep while practically we born to be specialized in different things. We all come through different levels of society with different abilities to learn and different abilities to implement our knowledge.

We have a proverb in our language, “A son of a butcher becomes a butcher” Meaning is, if you see some profession very closely from the very childhood, you eventually become good in that. That’s the primal technique of learning. We always watch and learn from the era we were monkeys. This is how children should be taught. If they learn something else at school and something very different after coming home then, it will be difficult for them to choose the right career and we can see, the adolescents in India are facing this very same problem.

Children should be tough something they are familiar with. We all have dreams in our childhood. At that time we can become anyone from the scientist to the farmer but later on, this education system crushes our dreams and make everyone confuse by teaching us both farming and rocket science. We don’t need that. We want specific knowledge in a specific field for everyone.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the thought of making some subjects optional if they require some extra set of skills and going to be used by only some of the professions then why bother teaching a fish to climb a tree? Instead, we should see his or her interest. All fields are easy and profitable only if you love what you do.