Some people think the best way to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles.

To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed by many that inflating the cost of fuel is the most efficient way to solve environmental issues. I partially agree with them because I believe that although it is an important way but there are many other more effective ways of doing so.

On one hand, increase in the rate of fuel would definitely reduce the level of pollution to some extent. As increased rate will discourage people to use their vehicles unnecessarily, as it is a common trend to drive a car even though the distance is walkable. This will encourage people to use pooling of vehicle while going to same site. For instance, if five people from one community work in same office or location, it is the efficient to go by one car alternatively. This will also motivate them to use bicycles and public transport system. Thus, this will solve the problem to some extent.

On the other hand, I believe this is not the key method and there are many other effective ways to solve environmental issues such as growing more trees and avoid use of plastic bags. Plastic containers should be replaced by bio-degradable glass dishes. Also I believe that this change would provide some level of discomfort to the public as the public transport system in most of the countries are not very convenient. In short, only increasing the rate of fuel would not protect the environment, people have to become conscious about the surrounding and put their contribution by many other ways such as aforementioned.

In conclusion, I agree that inflated rates of fuel would decrease the environmental problems but it is not the most efficient way, as it will benefit the environment but may provide inconvenience to public. Only increasing the rate of fuel would not improve the adverse condition of our environment, many other measures need to be taken such as planting trees, choosing glass over plastic and using renewable resources instead of fossil fuels.