Some people say that the current obsession with technology and the internet means that we are creating a generation of people that have poor social skills. Do you agree with this statement?

Nowadays, humans are becoming too dependent on technology and the Internet for almost every aspect of their lives. Some people believe that this over-dependence on technology will lead to a generation with weak communication skills. I strongly agree with this notion due to some reasons.

On the one hand, thanks to recent technological advancements, individuals are able to interact with one another conveniently and immediately. Regardless of how far two people are physically distanced, devices such as mobile phone, tablet or laptop enable them to communicate together without encountering any difficulties. Furthermore, having access to the Internet and social media including Facebook or Instagram, online users can enjoy expanding their friendship circles instantly by sending friend requests to as many people as they want. Considering these ever-growing impacts of modern facilities on social networks, some are of the opinion that the more we use the technology, the more socialized our generation will become.

However, being obsessed with the Internet and smartphones can surprisingly weaken people’s interpersonal communication skills, for they are less willing to be involved in in-person activities. For example, instead of taking part in parties to connect with friends, one may prefer using online messaging applications on his phone and save the time. In this way, as time passes by, individuals seem to be disconnected from those who live in the physical presence of them, and face-to-face communications will be replaced by the technology inevitably. As a result of this unreasonable replacement, our generation would be more likely to become isolated persons who suffer from poor social skills.

In conclusion, although the modern technology has brought people closer, I believe that the unconscious use of it could affect individuals’ socialization negatively.