Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones in communication has negative effects on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Thanks to the cutting-edge technological advancements, nowadays, people rely too heavily on electric devices such as smart phones to communicate. While I accept that these new methods have some possible benefits, I believe this alarming trend causes some major concerns in terms of basic skills such as reading or writing.

To begin with, it is obvious that internet-based platforms offer a more convenient and fast way of being in touch, regardless of the distance that there is among people. A wide range of applications are available that can be installed on computers or cell phones and whenever people have access to the Internet, they can make either audio or video calls with their family members or their friends. This phenomenon is considered as an asset, especially for those ones who have to live in other countries or even cities. Take international students as an example. They are able to keep in contact with their family by FaceTime or WhatsApp. Furthermore, for some occasions like global pandemic, for example, Covid-19 pandemic, these methods are an appropriate way of communication.

On the other hand, excessive usage of these applications results in negative effects. Perhaps, the most significant disadvantage of these methods is the fact that after a while, people would be too dependent on them which impair their writing and reading competences. Auto corrector of these applications, that is active during typing, deter people from finding the right grammar or spelling. Imagine primary school students who are not familiar with academic vocabulary or correct grammar of complex structure. If they get used to those vocabulary that are popular in social media, they probably would face many difficulties during academic years. Furthermore, being reliant upon these platforms, people allocate less time on reading books or magazines. In long term, their performance in reading would be weaken.

In conclusion, while it is true to say that communication through social media websites have some perks, it seems that they are eclipsed by possible drawbacks, Since the negative impacts on writing and reading skills of people are more chronic and more complex.