Some people think that intelligence is innate while others think that we can improve our intelligence through learning.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is an issue about the original of brainpower. Some teachers believe that it comes from the birth, while some brain scientists say that people develop it through training. This essay will consider both ideas and agrees with the idea of developing the mental potential.

Let us start with the reasons why some teachers claim that thinking abilities are hereditary. The first reason is that gifted people normally have excellent memory. Some children show impressive results in quoting poems, because they have inherent ability to memorize texts at the first sight. Another reason is that talented people commonly have the ability to solve mathematical tasks quickly. Some people, who are talented in maths, can find a solution to the most difficult mathematical problems faster than others. Furthermore, great artists usually have rich imagination. Prominent painters usually make the greatest pictures, as they were born with the mental potential to create both colorful and detailed world in the mind.

However, some brain scientists state that the ability to think well comes through education. Firstly, ordinary people develop memory. Many people, who are untalented at memorizing, can develop this skill by various methods of memorization, such as mnemonic technique. Secondly, all children get education from teachers. Schools help children, regardless of how gifted they are to enhance their abilities, because education makes them use their potential to the maximum. Moreover, talents gain greatness through hard work. The intensive usage of their abilities, no matter what they have inherited from their parents, defines their success.

In conclusion, although some teachers advocate that the ability to think depends on hereditary genes, I think that people gain this ability through education.