Some people think that it is beneficial for children to do paid work, while others think it can be harmful for children.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of children doing paid work?

The argument whether paid work is useful or detrimental for children has not been settled yet. Where some believe it to be beneficial because children can learn the value of money and responsibility, others consider it to be harmful due to some of its drawbacks.

Firstly, one of the benefits for children who do paid work is that they learn to evaluate the worth of money. This in return teaches them the hard work needed to earn it therefore they do not waste it and spend it wisely. Secondly, an upside of doing a paid job for older children is to learn how to manage and save money. Many children, for instance, get a paid job to save money for something they want and cannot afford otherwise. Thirdly, work makes them responsible, wise and independent. The skills they learn at work help them become self supporting adults who are ready to enter in society.

On the other hand, one of the common problems children often come across while doing a paid job is the possibility of becoming a victim of exploitation through slavery. In many developing countries, for example, children are subjected to child labor; they are forced to do full time manual work on negligible wages. Another possible issue is that work prevents children from focusing on studies. As a result, they get poor score in school exams or tests.

In conclusion, there are many advantages of paid work but at the same time there are its drawbacks such as possibilities of exploitation and negligence on studies which should be taken into consideration as well.