Some people think that public libraries are not necessary today. Buy some feel that they r still providing some useful services. Discuss both the issues and give your opinion.

There was a time when the only source of getting information was public libraries, but time changed and now one can easily get required information through internet. There is a group of people who think that public libraries are no more required whereas other group are of the view that libraries should remain intact because of their positive contribution towards society. I shall discuss both aspects In detail before reaching a final verdict.

To begin with, libraries are no longer essential as every information can be easily be accessed with the help of internet. Instead of spending time in the library and looking for relevant content, one can easily reach out to right information within far less time. I would like to quote my personal example here; when I had to submit one of my assignment and rather going to library for the information, I got all the content and valid references with a single click on my laptop. By doing this I saved my time of visiting library as well as the money that was supposed to be consumed for obtaining library membership.

On the contrary, there are people who still realizes the significance of public libraries as it provides you the required ambiance to focus while studying/exploring the required information. One of my colleague is fond of studying and he never prefers handsets/laptops over library as he think that it provides required focus needed for studying. In addition to this, he feels good surrounded by people instead of staying at home in isolation.

To conclude this discussion, In my opinion; though everything is available on the internet, yet we cannot overlook the importance of public libraries. Hence libraries still holds the due importance. It is responsibility of governments to resume and maintain the culture to promote public libraries as it plays a vital role in developing the habit of reading books in youngsters.