Nowadays it is not only large companies that can be able to make films. Digital technology enables anyone to produce films. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, technology is invasive in different fields of life. It allows filmmakers with a low budget to show their talents in the cinematography area. In my opinions, this tendency is positive for various reasons.

Firstly, the latest electronic devices, such as iPhone, allow users to produce an appealing movie without a pricey professional camera. Thanks for that, young people are encouraged to design movie scenes in their own ways. Many well-known horrible movies like Lights Out originates from amateur videos on Youtube before they are fully developed to big-screen versions. The development of digital technology also reduces the budget reliance of directors on eminent sponsors. In the past, various films were delayed or cancelled because sponsors and directors were in conflicts and then sponsors refused to give financial support for the project.

Secondly, digital technology plays a crucial role in the media and press. With a phone on hand, people can film any events and moments as soon as they happen. These sensational videos then go viral on social media such as Facebook, Twitter, allowing a mass audience to update latest breaking news over the world. In other words, modern technology partly transformed the mainstream media into the online form. It also makes the press more timely, interactive and influential.

In conclusion, the advance of electronic gadgets allows young and amateur directors to have a chance to follow their dreams in screening. These devices also shape the form of the media as they support online press to be more popular. In my opinion, the application of technology in filming should be encouraged among young people because of its benefits.