Some people think that students who do not take a break in studies between the high school and the university are at disadvantage compared to students that travel and work after high school before furthering their education.

Study break is a trending concept in younger generation which is quite different to regular academic career. As a kid of modern era I support to the idea of taking break after high school and spend some time to travel and gather work experience. Let me discuss the reasons behind this concept with good examples.

The idea has it's origins in western society and it spreading rapidly through out the world. Continuous education for 14-18 years is depressing and getting degrees without practical application is useless. Many corporate firms prefer a person whose practical experience is equally strong to their academic life. Internships in relevant areas of their interested fields fetch them good opportunities. On the other hand a person's curriculum vitae without these aspects may not be attractive to employer. Beside gaining work experience travelling to different locations is also a good idea for those who would like to take a break in their academics. Similar and kin to this concept is work while travelling, which is quiet interesting. A person along with enjoying travel might try for some jobs which will be advantageous to his future jobs.

However, in countries where traditional concept of pursuing to university education with immediate completion of high school may be a drawback for those who wish to take break.Heavy competition and age factor are major issues in these societies. Parents who don't like their children to spend valuable time in travelling might not welcome this idea. People may also end up wasting their time in leisure activities in the name of break. Another factor which might affect this decision is fear of loosing interest in future education. Usually people who take break after high school will lose interest in continuing their university education.