Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest of our lives, while others believe that adult life brings more happiness.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

More often, we observe people being nostalgic about their teenage years and discussing how cheerful their lives were. On the other hand, we also come across people happily living their adulthood to the fullest along with fulfilling every responsibility towards their family. Here, I will put a light on both of the different mindsets and give my opinion.

Some people believe that life is a cakewalk in the teens. There are varied factors to this belief, the important one being financial dependency on parents. Do you remember demanding the most expensive dress on your birthday? What rejoice it was to invite your friends for a birthday party! As teens, people used to have a happy-go-lucky attitude and this has lain to the belief that teenage years are the happiest times of their lives.

On the other hand, there is a totally opposite mindset of people who believe that they are better off their teenage. The predominant factor that supports this belief is freedom. Despite being financially irresponsible as teens, there is usually a sense of lack of freedom. For instance, being adult, we no longer must seek consent from parents for every petty matter. Though adults need to work harder to make ends meet, they also have the privilege to party harder without any fear of getting caught.

Like the two sides of a coin, some people believe teenage to be the happiest years, while others the contrast. In my opinion, happiness is not a matter of being a teen or an adult. While both have their own pros and cons, I believe, being happy is a matter of attitude and not a phase of life. Optimism, gratitude and perseverance contribute to happiness during each phase of life be it teenage or adulthood.