Some people think that universities and colleges should concentrate on the history of their own country rather than the history of other parts of the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Educational institutions around the world have debated the importance of studying history. Some believe learning their own nation`s history is sufficient, personally, I strongly disagree. This essay will argue the importance of studying world`s history with examples from the UCLA university and the Industrial Revolution to prove points and demonstrate arguments.

On the one hand, there is ample evidence suggests that there are lots of benefit from learning historical events happened in the world. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly world history is a subject embraces all humanity, not just certain nations, ethnic groups, or civilizations. Secondly, it gives attention to common problems and challenges that humans have shared, rather than focusing on one country. For example, recent empirical research from UCLA demonstrated that learning world history helps to broaden student`s knowledge. Therefore it is conclusively clear the world`s history education has more benefit than national history.

On the other hand, although there is a case for studying world’s history, the impact of understanding historical events of a nation cannot be overstated. This is largely because students will learn the sacrifices made by their ancestors and learn to respect their own culture and traditions. For example, if Americans history student`s fail to learn to the Industrial Revolution, the majority would miss the valuable lessons it teaches. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that studying own history has its benefits too.

From the arguments and examples given, I firmly believe studying world history has more advantages than national history. It is predicted that all institutes will give more emphasis to world history in future.