Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

This is often a dichotomy that whether the role of university is to prepare students for specific employment or it should simply educate irrespective of any proper vocation. I believe that universities should provide both functions for students. This essay will first discuss that vocational education is essential and then it will discuss the role of more traditional tertiary education.

On the one hand, tertiary education should impart the knowledge and skills which are mandatory for certain jobs. The mainstay of this belief is that majority of students have specific prospect in their minds when they enroll at university. For instance, medicine, dentistry and engineering are opt by those pupils who wish to make career in these profession. Hence, this form of education compliments more career oriented students.

On the contrary, university should provide traditional education regardless considering any particular vocation. The main reason is that there are some students who do not aim at specific profession which they would undertake upon graduation. Thus, the non-vocational courses are suitable for them, for example, philosophy and humanitarian sciences because these subjects will simply enhance their intellectual abilities. It is likely that if these pupils are forced to study practical curriculum, they will be simply disillusioned or distracted as they do not find any point of interest. For example, it is reported by The Time magazine that only 50% of law students wanted to become lawyers upon completing their education.

In conclusion, I believe that role of university is to prepare graduates for better workforce and impart knowledge. The students could choose the suitable learning according to their own preferences.