Some people think that watching TV programs can help children's development while others disagree. What is your opinon?

The young generation in the modern era prefers to watch television in their free time. However, whether tv shows have a positive or negative impact on a child, has always been a controversial issue. A part of the population believes that viewing television can foster in child's mental growth whereas others deny this argument. In my opinion, TV program does not aid in a child's development and this essay will cite reasons to advocate my argument.

In recent years, many production units have introduced TV programs which they claim to help develop a child's creativity as well as an intellectual side. In addition, some people believe that watching cartoons and other kid's programs can not only imbibe emotional intelligence but also introduce them to a skill such as teamwork. For example, they state that the characters from cartoon series or kids sports show can assist in inculcating those skills. This argument can be agreed upon to some level but there are innumerable other factors associated with TV programs that hamper child development.

Children cannot put a check on themselves watching daily shows which hampers their physical growth as well as has a detrimental impact on their mental health. If a child is unattended, he might watch television for hours without doing any physical activity leading to a sedentary lifestyle which has a negative impact on their growth. Although, some TV programs aid in bestowing useful skills and traits, implementing those teachings are crucial. Thus, playing outdoor games and participating in team-building activities with other children can boost children's development rather than watching television.

To conclude, even though some TV programs try to teach skills which can be beneficial for child development, it is not useful unless implemented practically. Henceforth, TV program does not foster children development in my opinion.