Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside? What problem does this cause? What can be done to solve this problem?

As youths migrate from the rural areas to urban areas in search of greener pastures namely: basic amenities, education and jobs, they leave an aging population behind. This creates a population imbalance. In this essay, I discuss the problems that arises die to this imbalance and proffer solutions.

One problem caused by the movement of young people into the cities and towns is the strain they have on the cities’ infrastructure. In other words, the cities are not designed to accommodate the influx of people into it. As such, resources become scare which in turn become expensive. For example, housing costs begin to increase exponentially as the demand for it increases. A way to solve this problem is for government to low-cost estates to accommodate the surge in population and housing needs.

Another problem caused by the migration is the shortage of food in both the rural and urban areas. It is the youth that are the farmers and since they are migrating to the cities to look for better paying jobs, they leave a vacuum in the farming industry. This leads to food shortages because the yield during harvest is not enough to cater to the population. A way forward is for government to give incentives to farmers such as: tax rebates, provision of farming machinery and free accommodation.

There is also the problem of security affecting the rural areas in particular. Since the young men and women are in the cities, it creates an opening for thieves and kidnappers to rob and maim the elderly left behind. A solution to this problem is for government to ensure that youths are employed as security guards and policemen to secure lives and property.

To conclude, although young people would keep migrating on search of a better future, the problems that arises from such movements can easily be dealt with by a proactive government.