Team sports help school students to learn valuable skills and lessons.

What lessons can they learn?

How can these lessons benefit them in the future?

In today’s competitive era, there is a colossal upsurge in the thought that not only the academic success, but team sports also inculcate indispensable abilities and teachings in the school students. Therefore, both parents as well as teachers embed their best efforts to train and enhance the mental and physical development of the pupils. There are several lessons which the students can learn at school via playing team sports and acquire numerous benefits for their better future, which will be discussed in the subsequent paragraphs.

To commence with, there are umpteen lessons which a school learner can get from indulging in the team sports. Primarily, team sports build strong individuals by encouraging them in reaching their fitness goals. To explicate, a pupil become more health conscious and takes extra care to maintain their weight to stay ahead in the game. Additionally, the strength developed while practising the sport builds bones and muscle mass. To exemplify, a survey conducted by WHO in June 2018 in USA on 500 school students revealed that 75% of the pupils who are involved in playing a team sport and practicing with the team in routine got the key in building endurance, which in turn build cardiac strength.

Moreover, school children experience a great self-confidence and stress free life, when they are involved collectively in exercising and doing the daily practice in any sports arena . To substantiate, team mates instill not only a boost but also act as a great support system in any kind of difficult situation. For instance, Dr. Sigmund Freud, an eminent psychologist in his book on Human Behaviour and Child Development clearly stated that children feel happy and totally stress free when they are playing football or basketball with their team mates.

Furthermore, school pupils playing team sports enjoy a plethora of benefits not only in their present, but also in their future. Predominantly, regular physical training is a great aid in building endurance. To elucidate, when the students are proactively involved in playing soccer, ice hockey, basketball or cricket, they develop a great strength and that helps in fighting the inabilities of old age to a great extent and contributing to an optimal health. In addition, being a part of team enhances self-image. To clarify, as school athletes play in a team, they improve self-esteem and positive social interactions. To illustrate, a research conducted by University of California, country USA, April 2019 reported that on two groups of school students, amidst which one is actively involved in team sports while others are non-athletes, which clearly stated that school athletes reported few or no depressive symptoms and more socially active. This will in return undoubtedly result in long-term happiness.

To encapsulate, it can be concluded that although many valuable teachings can be learnt at school via playing team sports, their benefits will indeed an asset. If, a balanced approach is adopted in teaching the overall benefits of sports, many problems related to the overall development children can be eradicated.