Telecommuting is changing the concept of conventional working atmosphere. Do you agree?

Flexible work hours, telecommuting and home have changed the common job atmosphere. Telecommuting which is of recent origin refers to office workers spending their working hours at home and using electronic technology to communitie with their employers. This is in agreement to the view that telecommuting is undoubtedly transforming the idea of conventional work atmosphere.

To begin with, telecommuting has been made possible through the extensive use of information technology. For the individual office goer, telecommuting means spending more time at home. For parents with young children, this may be a great blessing and single parents will specially benefit from this as they lack time to carry out duties both home and work location. One considerable advantage of this technology is that there will be no need to commute to the work place and back everyday.

Moreover, the money and materials spent for the construction of office facilities can be spent where it is more productive. The structure of urban life is also like to be affected by telecommuting. Traffic congestion would be reduced, especially in commercial districts. In short, people will have less reason to travel to city centres from the suburbs and less means less pollution. However, telecommuting has its own limitations as well. Sitting at the computer terminal for a long time can have adverse effects. Social interaction with co-workers will be marginal.

After analysing the various facts of the topic, it can be seen that telecommuting will change not only the way of work, bot also the way we live. With the advent of globalization and with technology at our fingertips, telecommuting is here to stay. It is expected to make office work more relaxed and to improve the intimacy of family members.