The tendency of human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of fashion clothes and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree?

Copying is genetically imbibed into every living organism, be it a bacterium, a mouse or an elephant. By copying, they may achieve a better environment for living which is abundant in food and safety, which is after all, a must for survival. Humans have also received copying as a genetic trait from their ancestors, which shows in the way they dress, speak or use material objects.

Firstly, fashion trends are an example of this makeup of human minds, which become popular all over the world in a few days after first coming into light. Celebrities are the ones who are followed the most in this regard as people tend to follow their idols. Secondly, brand names also trend among people, who prefer one brand over another and as such, cause some brand following in a certain community. It can be seen in the case of Indian residents in the UK who do follow a local brand despite of there being some cheaper or a better line of clothing as people feel obliged to follow the crowd.

Additionally, we see a fan-following in the case of electronic goods and other household items too by the masses in the name of current trends. It is evident in the increased demand of flat screen television sets, LED TV screens, and other such gadgets, that all the individuals want to own to stay on top of the fashion triangle. Other goods of household and daily use also follow a similar path. Mobile hand sets have to come from a certain manufacturer or another, according to the taste of the person using it. In a neighborhood with a mixed culture population, ethnicity also decides the mobile phone model that is being used.

Such trends are a global occurrence, and while falling for these, some individuals go way beyond their financial limits to acquire them. This leads to a bad financial plan for their future. Hence, a religious fashion following must be prevented.

To conclude, it can be said that copying is a trait that has been in nature from a long time, has passed down to the successors genetically or culturally, and will continue to be a force of great strength which will keep on driving the coming generation in many good, and sometimes bad ways.