Is there any value in studying academic subjects that are not useful in terms of generating wealth for the country?

There is a controversial issue about the importance of teaching academic subjects. Some teachers say that they are significant to study as much as maths and physics, while painters believe that they are waste of time and effort. In this essay, I will consider both points of view and agree with the idea of great importance of art in producing income.

Let us start with the reasons why some teachers in art state that learning academic courses is beneficial for the economy. The first reason is that art normally contributes to the development of tourism. Most tourists readily spend much money in countries, where they can enjoy local culture, so students should learn art subjects to keep their country appealing to visitors. Another reason is that physical education keeps the majority of workforce healthy. Subjects, which train people to stay physically active, often spare a great deal of health expenditure for the country, because people both address to hospital rarely and become more productive at work.

However, some painters claim that completing many academic disciplines bring little profit to artists and governments. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, unemployment rate among people with academic degrees is on the rise. More artists cannot find employment in art-related fields after graduation, because many employers are oriented on hiring people majored in engineering as well as business. Secondly, many art amenities are financially inefficient. Today, people usually show little interest in art, because they work hard and find rest in gadgets. As a result, many theaters, museums and galleries not only generate little income to the government, but also they often need extra funding.

In conclusion, even though some painters argue that studying academic subjects creates little benefit to both the country and individuals, I think that people should also graduate in them, because them indirectly bring considerable value to all.