Most artists earn low salaries and therefore should receive fundings from the government in order for them to continue with their work.

To what extent do you agree

Two days ago, there was an article about artists in Kazakhstan. In the article, the author highlighted that artists are in need of financial backup because of the low salary. This leads one to wonder whether governments should pay extra money to artists. This essay agrees with the idea for the following reasons.

The first reason is that this aid will help artists to develop their skills in art. Artists need a governmental support to refine their skills. Once they improve their competency in artwork, they will be able to produce high-quality performances to entertain audience and, therefore, boost the public interest in art. For example, according to the top manager of the main theater in Karaganda city, while being provided with financial assistance by the state, his artists have started to take new plays to perform on stage, which in turn have attracted many visitors.

Another reason why the government should provide artists with extra funding is that they can fully commit to art. Unless the government allocate extra pay for artists, they have to take part-time jobs, which have a negative impact on cultural development. However, as soon as, the government supply them with extra funding, they can abandon their more occupations and fully immerse in art. This results in positive effect on culture. For instance, many artists stopped selling clothes in the local market as an extra job, once the authorities agreed to raise their salary by twenty percent annually.

However, some economists believe that the government should refuse artists. The main argument for this point of view is that there are more important occupations to support. As well as artists, teachers and medical staff have low salaries and need extra pay from the government, but if the authorities allocated aid to artists, then they would have to decrease the wages in education and health care, which would negatively affect their work. Despite this, the work of artists is also significant as it enriches people spiritually and culturally.

In conclusion, artists should certainly receive a decent help from the government as this will enable them grow in qualifications and leave extra jobs.