Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary world, there is a noticeable increase in the number of products, their varieties, and their varied bands which are bringing an innumerable inquietude not only for consumers to choose their favorable goods but also competition between producers to convince buyers to purchase. As a result, advertisement is playing the most conspicuous role to sway people into buying. However, these limitless products may not the real needs of the society. In my own perception, I am more positive with the statement given in the question.

These days, entire companies have to expand their products into variety if they astonishingly demand to survive. They altitude their product lines without regarding into valuable efficiency. Thus, the various beneficial or detrimental goods are being uninterruptedly manufactured, these products would not even meet the real needs of society. Furthermore, this flourishing launching might be accomplished by the power of advertising. Undoubtedly, advertisement is a primary element in economic to mirror the volume of high sales. Predominantly, consumers are more likely to purchase products from brands with which they are familiar. By the mean, advertisement expose products in specious ways, they might ask some famous people to ballyhoo any goods due to attaining high sales. For example, a cosmetic production that is selling their products in high price just because under its own well-known reputation.

On the other hand, there are various aspects against this argument. Moreover, some people still hold to this conservative view that advertising is not remarkable means to persuade consumer making decision, who are not simply swayed by the deceptive and misleading way of advertising and those skyrocketing sales of products. Truly, these mentioned people are somehow meticulous with their real needs and high quality of goods. Consequently, it is difficult to distract their purchasing by tempting advertisements and slogans. For instance, a commercial may imply that if a bold person buys a new advertised shampoo, he or she will face with a torrent of hair. However, in reality paying money for this product will not bring the expected result.

To sum up, there are some people who are highlighting the power of advertisements to burgeon high ranking sales of products whether they are necessitous demands or not. In addition, there are some people who are ignoring the products which are intensely exposed by advertisements. I personally, subscribe to the position that advertisement could carry the most impressive burden to lunch a new product into popular product, although this product might not the chief good that customers expect to possess.