Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports Why is it Is it a positive or negative development

Playing games is a quintessential part of everyone’s childhood. With the advent of internet and new technologies kids nowadays are keener to play video games on their computer screens from the comfort of their homes and thus spent little time on outdoor games. I believe that it is a negative development as it not only compromises the physical health but it also hampers the mental and physical health of the children.

Beyond any qualms there are myriads of logical reasons to prove that there are far more numerous negative consequences of playing computer games than the positive ones. According to recent research physical health issues like obesity and hyperglycemia have been found to be associated with prolonged sitting hours by kids and adults in front of their laptops. Furthermore, mental health issues like isolation, depression, bipolar disorders and increased suicidal tendency are also associated with spending endless hours alone with the mobile or computers thereby spending most of the time living in a virtual relationship with friends instead of developing real friendships. For instance, addition of PubG game that involves fighting enemies onscreen without the need to think on a cognitive level deteriorates both mind and body. This has been found to hamper personality development and most of such kids face issues in making friends and starting up conversations when they personally meet other people.

On the contrary, some people believe that playing laptop games in moderation and as a way to relax between works has been found to increase the work efficacy. Moreover, certain games that involve brainstorming have been found to sharpen the mind of kids. For example chess involves brainstorming before making the next move and it helps in building the intellectual skills of the kids.

In conclusion, I believe that adverse effects of playing computer games outweigh the benefits when kids fail to implement self-control on them and endlessly start playing video games without any pause. Playing video games is moderation and under parental guidance is necessary to prevent the serious physical and mental health issues in kids. Will parents understand the gravity of this stern matter? Still remains a question.