Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Video games are a ubiquitous form of entertainment in today’s children and youth. Some people claim that more and more children are being addicted to games and avoid outdoor exercise. This essay will discuss the reasons and consequences of this tendency.

Children like video games because games are entertaining and challenging. Playing video games urges children to solve problems, work out the best moves for their character, and make decisions for picking equipment and supplies in the best possible way. Those steps can be exciting and revoke the curiosity of children. Also, modern games are often designed for multiple players where those players have to compete with each other on a rank list to become the champion. As a result, children may spend a whole night to defeat their rivals, which brings them a feeling of victory as same as the feeling that they attain when doing sports.

A long- term video games immersion may affect youngster’s physical and psychological development. First, when children are gaming, their bodies are sedentary and their hearts and brains overstimulated, causing significant physical harm. This overstimulation is the main reason for high blood pressure and rapid heart rate, leading to risks of heart attack and stroke in later years. Second, some studies show the connection between video games with increasingly aggressive behaviour in children. When youngsters play games, they tend to model themselves after characters with whom they identify. Therefore, if they play violent games without parental guidance, they are more likely to become short-tempered and treat fellows violently.

In conclusion, a sedentary life with most of the time playing games and no time for sports is harmful to children as it has bad effects on their physical and mental health. To prevent this, the parents should encourage the children to participate in outdoor activities and limit to play games.