Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. Discuss the problems and Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic in big cities.

It is true that, nowadays, traffic congestion in most countries is on the increase and cities are becoming busier. In my viewpoint, governments should take some steps to tackle this problem because it affects most people especially who lives in big cities.

There are various reasons for traffic congestion. One of the main reasons for traffic jam is that majority of people prefer to use their own cars versus public transportation. Public transportation is not convenient enough and reliable to use in most mega cities. In addition buses and trains are too old and they don’t obey a punctual timetable. Another factor for traffic jam in mega cities is that commuters traveling to work at rush hours which is steady for most of workers.

One of the most important issues that administrations can do to mitigate traffic congestion is to make public transportation too efficient and affordable so more people will use it daily. Another measure to reduce traffic problem is to charge congestion fee for cars which enter city center. By taking this fee, either people will discourage to drive downtown, or authorities will be able to raise money in favor of public transportation. Moreover, attendance of some experts such as engineers, translators isn’t indispensable at workplace; they can work at home online via Internet. By decreasing presence of some workers at workplace or staggering their work hours, traffic jam will reduce. For example, Iranian government has decided to stagger working hours of employees to diminish traffic jam in Tehran, capital of country.

In these modern days congestion traffic has become one of the most serious matters. This issue can be alleviated by improving public transportation, changing workers’ attendance necessity at workplace and charging drivers who enter city center.