Universities should allocate the same amount of money to students’ sports activities as they allocate to their libraries. Do you agree?

Universities have a great potential to uncover sporting talent. It is argued that universities should allocate equal budgets for the sports and the library department, however, I disagree, and In my opinion sports should be allocated a larger budget than libraries.

Expensive sporting equipments are one of the reasons why equal budget allocations for these two departments will be unjust. Even the basic models of sporting kits, for instance a cricket kit, costs a fortune. Therefore it will not be reasonable to expect high standards in the sports department of an institution if it is not spending enough on the sporting facilities. In contrast to the library, where spendings and maintenance costs are fairly low due to comparitively cheaper prices of books and journals, sports vertical of a university spend hefty amounts on buying upto date kits and maintaining playgrounds. As a result, even for comparable standards in both the departments, sports segment would require larger funding.

Another reason why I support extra funds for sports activities is that it could help in increased participation from students in sports which is a positive development. Involvement in sports is imperative as it gives a break from the stress caused by ever-increasing competition in each stage of life starting from adolscence to the old age. With extra funds, institutions would be able to promote and advert sports among the students, and as a result, student participation in sporting engagements will increase.

To conclude, although both library and the sports are two important organizations of a university, I opine that the later should be allocated a larger amount of money due to the costs incurred and the important role it has to play in promoting sports engagements.