The use of mobile phone is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phone should be banned like smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Mobile phones are considered antisocial and similar to smoking, therefore a significant number of individuals believe that mobile phones must be forbidden as smoking is in some locations. In my opinion, I completely disagree because mobile phones are essential and make people social virtually with the help of internet.

Firstly, banning mobile phones will disconnect people from the rest of the world, as mobile connectivity helps people to remain in touch with others at any hour of the day and irrespective of location. For instance, in today’s world, people can contact with each other with the help of telephones mainly, especially to overseas family members and friends. Therefore, without phones, it may be difficult for them to know about each other during any time.

Secondly, mobile phones also act as a career for social connectivity with the help of internet. While people are not physically connected, they can share their emotions and feelings about any concern they have on social platforms like Facebook applications. For instance, recently a cricket world cup match held in London between India and New Zealand was criticized by fans and critics on different platforms with the help of mobile phones because of low quality umpiring. Hence banning these items can create more problems in the society.

In conclusion, prohibiting mobile phone usage is no way an effective way to control the antisocial behaviour of individuals, however, this step will increase the difficulty in connecting with other individuals. Hence, banning of mobile phones is no way similar to smoking.