Violence in playgrounds is increasing However it is important that parents should teach children not to hit back bullies Discuss this view and give your opinion

In the modern society, violence in schools is rising and playground bullying seems to be increasing. The issue is whether or not parents should deal with this problem by teaching their children to fight back. The arguments on both sides of this debate need to examined carefully.

Many people believe that violence only breeds further violence. Evidence for this is found in research which shows that children who grow up in violent families often grow up to be violent themselves. Furthermore, some children may enjoy the power associated with violence and develop into bullies. However, there are examples of bullying being stopped as a result of victims hitting back. This shows that there are occasions when violence may help to end bullying.

However, looking at the issue n the long term, there is a strong case for supporting parents who promote anti-violent behaviours. If children can learn that there are other ways of solving disagreement, then it is possible that when those children become adults they will behave similarly compromise rather than by force. In my view this is a powerful argument for encouraging a non-violent approach to school bullies.

Another aspect of this issue is the fact that bullying occurs in school time when parents are not present. Hence, it could be argued that it is better for schools to deal with this problem by promoting anti-bullying policies and offering support to victims. Although this makes practical sense, it ignores th fundamental effect that parents can have on their children.

In conclusion, despite there being circumstances when a violent response to bullying may be justified, it is my belief that teaching non-violent strategies is more productive in the long term. Also, although schools have a role to phay, it is the parents who can have the most significant effect.