What are the advantages and disadvantages of using CCTV cameras to fight crime?

Global crime has increase drastically these days. However, the development of technology played a crucial role in mitigate such a serious issue. One of the most effective example of the latest technology is installing surveillance cameras in public areas. This action indeed, has some positive and negative impact on people. This essay aims to explore the pros and cons of utilizing such cameras public places before coming to a conclusion.

First of all, there is no doubt that CCTV provides a feel of safety and security for people who are using such technology. For instance, lots of individuals prefer to live in buildings that have security cameras, which made them more secure about their children, cars and all other belongs against criminals and thefts. Second of all, it's irrefutable that surveillance cameras lessen the crime level in a plethora of places. Since, burglars and robbers think twice at least before doing any kind of illegal activities in areas where CCTVs are existed. The crime rate in Dubai for example considered one of the most lowest level among other nations due to such a great security cameras network along the city. Thus, criminals know that will be viewed and monitored if they doing any illegal activities. Finally, CCTVs participates in gathering an accurate information and evidences. Various nations especially an advance countries rely on surveillance cameras for investigation, as they provide an extremely precise data and footage about the kind of crime the date and time. Moreover, they might help to find the locations of some dangerous gangs or terrorists.

In contrast, CCTVs also has some disadvantages for people. To begin with, lack of privacy for individuals life. To illustrate, many people claim that install security cameras in public areas destroy their privet life. Furthermore, installing CCTVs in workplace might give a sense of poor trust for staff. As, it let them to think that they are being monitored and viewed, so they feel uncomfortable with that. Then, the very high cost of the installation. As it's not a regular camera, it's indeed a very sophisticated one, which connects with complicated severs and works under different conditions. Therefore, it's too expensive for some small shops and firms to have it.The last but not least, CCTVs will never stop the crime to be happened. Since it's a camera which only detect and record people's actions ,but will not halt any crime to be done like alarms for example which's connected directly to police offices.

In conclusion, Crime has conspicuously increased in last few years. However, installing CCTVs like any technology has a positive and negative side on minimizing the crime level in the community.